This website uses 'cookies' to enhance your experience and for basic functionality. Using this website means you're happy with this. To find out more about cookies on this website, see our privacy policy.

< Back to team

Jon

East

Senior Consultant

Jon East

Senior Consultant

What gets me out of bed in the morning

My family on weekdays (my wife, our daughters and I are generally all out of the house by 7:15am) and sport on weekends (playing or coaching hockey from September to April). Workwise, I’m energised by having a variety of work and clients – no two days are the same and working as a consultant gives me the flexibility I want.

An entrepreneur I admire

Outside my immediate family, JK Rowling is someone who I feel is an inspiration to so many. Her backstory and challenges are well known, and in Harry Potter and friends she has created a global brand and phenomenon. I am an avid reader, so anyone who has written such wonderful stories commands my respect.

Closer to home, I greatly admire my wife. She has managed to set up and run a successful HR consultancy whilst at the same time also being the main carer for our two daughters and running the East family household very efficiently.​

The fine print

  • Legal Experience: I qualified as a corporate lawyer with Eversheds (London) in 1996 and, excluding a 12 month secondment I arranged to Minter Ellison in Melbourne from late 1998, worked there until September 2000. At that point I started an 18 year in-house career working for Rexam plc (5 years), Samsung Electronics (2 years) and Jupiter Asset Management (11 years) during which I continued to practise using my corporate (M&A) skills as well as developing extensive commercial legal experience. In June 2018, I left Jupiter to pursue a consultancy/ contracting career and from September that year provided maternity cover for 14 months for a corporate counsel role at ERM.
  • Education: I was educated at Wellington College (O and A Levels) before studying Law at Reading University (1990-1993) and completing the Legal Practice Course at The College of Law in Guildford (1993-1994). My training contract at Eversheds London (formerly Jaques & Lewis) started in September 1994.
  • Other Interests: Sport has always played a big part in my life and continues to do so. Both of my daughters love sport so my wife and I spend a lot of time watching them and I also coach their respective age groups at Old Cranleighans HC on Sunday mornings. Saturdays often see me playing hockey for the Vets team and on occasion (fair weather only) I jump on my bike and cycle out to enjoy a few hours in the Surrey Hills.
< Back to team